Formation/liquidation of a limited liability company

Formation of a GmbH

You can download our data sheet for the formation of a GmbH or UG (haftungsbeschränkt) here.

Please fill out the form on screen or by hand and send it by post, fax, e-mail or bring it to us! Thank you very much!

If you would like to set up a GmbH or a limited liability company (haftungsbeschränkt), please provide us with the information below - on our data sheet - and contact us personally. You will then immediately receive a draft of the company formation in accordance with your wishes and can arrange an appointment for the notarization.

Since August 1, 2022, we have also been offering you online bar formations 
of your GmbH and online commercial register registrations for all companies 
for all companies. 

Please contact us if you have any questions!

Please also let us know whether you would like to form the company using the statutory model protocol or whether you would like a more detailed articles of association with more detailed provisions. It is cheaper to form a company using the statutory model protocol. However, as the model protocol is very concise, it is only recommended for one-man/woman companies. In particular for a GmbH with several shareholders, the model protocol lacks a number of important regulations (e.g. holding shareholders' meetings, restrictions on sale, succession, redemption, pre-acquisition rights). The same applies if you initially set up your company alone, but would like to add further shareholders at a later date.

It is therefore generally advisable to draft your articles of association in more detail and individually. Please contact us about this. We will be happy to prepare your articles of association for you. You do not need to draft the contract yourself and this will not save you any costs. In fact, the costs of notarization are always the same for an individual partnership agreement (i.e. one that does not correspond to the statutory model protocol), regardless of whether you draft the agreement yourself or whether we draft it for you. We therefore recommend that you take advantage of our experience in drafting articles of association and let us prepare everything for you. You can use the time saved in this way for the many other preparatory steps of your entrepreneurial activity.

Please click here for English version!

Warning

The state justice administrations and the Federal Ministry of Justice warn against - sometimes misleading - offers, payment requests and invoices that do not originate from judicial authorities in connection with the online services and announcements on the federal and state justice portals.

Recently, there has been an increase in cases in which various companies - sometimes using letters designed to look like government agencies or protected domain names (e.g. www.handelsregisterbekanntmachungen.de) - offer “services” such as entry in non-official registers or similar. In some cases, requests for payment are simply sent for entries already made in official registers.

The offers, requests for payment or invoices and remittance slips from these companies sometimes give the impression of official forms and in some cases also contain a warning. However, such letters have no legal effect on their own and do not constitute a payment obligation towards the issuer. The rejection of these offers has no effect on the legal effect of the official publications.

Here you will find a list of secure IBANs used by the authorities and insecure IBANs.

  • Company name

Example: Mustermann Lebensmittel Im- und Export GmbH

Note: You should clarify the admissibility of the company in advance with the Chamber of Industry and Commerce responsible for your registered office. If you are based in Monheim am Rhein, Hilden, Langenfeld or Düsseldorf, the Düsseldorf Chamber of Industry and Commerce is responsible; if you are based in Cologne, the Cologne Chamber of Industry and Commerce is responsible. For other locations, you can find the relevant IHK at

www.ihk.de/#ihk-finder

Most chambers of industry and commerce have an online form to check the admissibility of the company and the object!

Here you will find a list of links to the relevant online forms of the Chambers of Industry and Commerce.

  • Amount of share capital

for limited liability companies: at least 25,000 euros!

  • Data of all shareholders

First and last name, different maiden name if applicable, date of birth, address, amount of share in the share capital

Example:

  1. Melanie Mustermann née Musterfrau, born on 8.9.1989, residing at Musterstraße 1, 12345 Musterstadt à 13.000 € Anteil;
  2. Max Mustermann, born on 9.5.1959, residing at Musterweg 3, 12435 Musterstadt à 12.000 € Anteil.
  • Property status of all shareholders

For all married partners, please let us know what nationality and habitual residence you now have and had at the time of marriage. If a foreign matrimonial property regime applies to a partner, it is possible that the sole participation of a partner (without his or her spouse) in the company is not possible or only possible with further precautions. With the information you provide, we can determine the matrimonial property regime and make suggestions on how to proceed so that you can participate in the company with legal certainty.

Example:

  1. Melanie Mustermann née Musterfrau, nationality now: German, nationality at the time of marriage: Italian, habitual residence now: Germany, habitual residence at the time of marriage: Italy
  2. Max Mustermann, husband of Melanie Mustermann, nationality now: German, nationality at the time of marriage: German, habitual residence now: Germany, habitual residence at the time of marriage: France
  • Full or half payment?

[Only for the GmbH, not for the UG (haftungsbeschränkt)!]

Direct full payment of the capital or only half payment? In the case of half payment, the further payment is made according to the decision of the shareholders, which saves capital at the beginning of the company.

 

  • Data of all managing directors

First and last name, different maiden name if applicable, date of birth, address.

Note: Both the shareholders themselves and third parties can become managing directors!

Example:

  1. Gerd Geschäftig, born on 8. 2. 1982, Geschäftsstraße 1, 99999 Geschäftsstadt;
  2. Frieda Fleißig, born on 7.5. 1975, Fleißstraße 3, 33333 Fleißstadt
  • Power of representation of the managing directors

If there are several managing directors: Should the managing directors each be able to act alone or only jointly?

Example: The managing directors Busy and Diligent should both be able to act alone.

Should the managing director(s) also be able to conclude transactions with themselves or simultaneously as representatives of other companies or third parties (= exemption from the restrictions of Section 181 BGB)? (particularly recommended for sole shareholder managing directors and for affiliated or cooperating companies with partially identical managing directors).

Example: The managing director Fleißig shall be exempt from § 181 BGB. The managing director Geschäftig shall not be exempt from Section 181 BGB.

  • Registered office (place) of the company and business address

Example: Registered office Musterort, business address: GmbH-Straße 1, 23456 Musterort

  • Object of the company

In which sector should your company operate? What are your lines of business?

Example: “The object of the company is to trade in, import and export foodstuffs and to provide advice in this area, with the exception of legal and tax advice”

Further procedure after notarization

Immediately after notarization, you will receive a certified copy of your certificate of incorporation from us. You can use this to open an account for your company at a bank of your choice.

IMPORTANT: Please pay in the share capital only after the notarization and opening of the account! Each shareholder should pay in his/her share of the share capital separately and with a clear purpose (for example: “Payment of contribution shareholder X, formation of 1.1.2023, UVZ no. 1-2023 notary Dr. Heinig”).

Please then send us (also by e-mail or fax) proof of payment of the share capital. We will then register your company electronically for entry in the commercial register. If you have not already done so, please affix a company sign to your business address.

You will receive a cost invoice from the commercial register. This amounts to € 150,- for the registration of the company, € 50,- for the electronic retrievability of the data in the commercial register and € 20,- for the certified extract from the commercial register. Please make sure that you only pay the original invoice from the commercial register and not those from other invoice issuers, some of which pretend to be a register or other official body. As soon as you have paid the commercial register's invoice, the commercial register will enter your company in the commercial register. You will receive a registration notification and, after we have checked the entry, a certified extract from the commercial register.

ATTENTION: If your incorporation is particularly urgent, we can arrange to cover the costs for you so that the register registers the company immediately (and not only after receipt of payment). Please contact us about this!

IMPORTANT: Please only act on behalf of your company and only conclude contracts once your company has been entered in the commercial register! Please also leave the paid-up share capital in full in the company's account until this time!

Once the company has been registered, you can also use the share capital for business purchases (e.g. furniture, computers) or for services (e.g. business and legal advice, IT service providers). However, you may not buy items for yourself or pay out the capital to yourself! This would be an inadmissible hidden non-cash formation.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Special features when transferring a sole proprietorship to a limited liability company

The transfer of your sole proprietorship into a limited liability company is possible in the following ways in particular:

  1. Factual justification

When founding a GmbH in kind, you make the contribution to the share capital by contributing your company. The value of the assets contributed must be at least € 25,000. A corresponding certificate from your tax advisor is required for this. Furthermore, a non-cash incorporation report must be prepared. It is not legally possible to found a UG (haftungsbeschränkt) in kind.

  1. Cash foundation with premium in kind

When founding a company in cash with a non-cash premium, you make the contribution to the share capital in cash. When founding a GmbH, you must pay in at least € 12,500; when founding an Unternehmergesellschaft (haftungsbeschränkt), you must pay in the full amount of the chosen share capital. You bring your company into the company as an additional non-cash premium. You can transfer it to the company's capital reserves or grant it to the company as a shareholder loan.

No substantive formation report is required for this variant. The registry court may require a certificate stating that the liabilities of the sole proprietorship do not exceed its debts.

  1. Pure cash foundation

In the case of pure cash formation, you form a GmbH or an Unternehmergesellschaft (haftungsbeschränkt) and make the contribution to the share capital in cash (initially at least € 12,500 in the case of a GmbH, and the full amount of the chosen share capital in the case of an Unternehmergesellschaft (haftungsbeschränkt)). The company is not (initially) contributed. The GmbH can continue the business of the sole proprietorship. If necessary, you can contribute any necessary assets at a later date or transfer them to the GmbH for use.

  1. Spin-off to form a new company

In a spin-off for new formation, you spin off the company to a newly formed GmbH in accordance with the German Reorganization Act. One advantage of this is the universal succession with regard to the company's contracts and other legal relationships. For a spin-off, you must first register your company as a sole trader in the commercial register. It is not legally possible to spin off the company to an Unternehmergesellschaft (haftungsbeschränkt).

  1. Cash formation and subsequent spin-off for absorption

In this variant, the company is initially founded purely in cash (as in point 3 above). Once the GmbH or UG (haftungsbeschränkt) has been entered in the commercial register, you then spin off your sole proprietorship to your existing GmbH or UG (haftungsbeschränkt) (similar to point 4 above). In the case of a UG (haftungsbeschränkt), however, no capital increase can take place as part of the spin-off, unless the UG (haftungsbeschränkt) becomes a GmbH as part of the spin-off. You must also register your company as a sole trader in the commercial register in advance for the variant of cash formation and subsequent spin-off for incorporation.

Which option is most suitable for you depends in particular on whether and to what extent universal succession, a contribution of assets and/or book value continuation are important for you. Accounting aspects, your specific tax situation and the external presentation may also play a role. Please also discuss these points with your tax advisor.

Liquidation of a GmbH

The liquidation of a GmbH proceeds as follows:

The shareholders pass a resolution to liquidate the GmbH. In doing so, they can appoint one or more liquidators. The shareholders can also decide for the individual liquidators whether they should always have sole power of representation, i.e. whether they should always be able to act alone or only together with another liquidator. If permitted by the articles of association, the shareholders can also decide for each liquidator whether they should be exempt from the restrictions of Section 181 BGB, i.e. whether they should also be able to conclude transactions between the GmbH and themselves and/or between the GmbH and other third parties. If the shareholders do not appoint a liquidator in the resolution, the previous managing directors are automatically the liquidators of the company.

In the resolution, the shareholders also determine the date on which the company is to enter liquidation. The company can only determine a date in the future; retroactive liquidation is not possible. The shareholders often decide on the end of the company's financial year (usually the end of December 31) as the effective date. In this way, the shareholders no longer have to prepare an additional liquidation balance sheet, as the liquidation date and the reporting date of the regular annual financial statements coincide. If the shareholders choose a different date for the liquidation, they must prepare a liquidation balance sheet on this date (in addition to the regular annual balance sheet).

The liquidators must register the dissolution of the company in the commercial register. They must also announce the dissolution of the company in the Federal Gazette and request the company's creditors to register with the company.

The liquidators must then wind up the company's business and pay off any creditors. The liquidators may only distribute any remaining assets of the company to the shareholders one year after the announcement has been made in the Federal Gazette. The liquidators must also fulfill all of the company's tax obligations. At the end of the liquidation, you must submit a final liquidation balance sheet and tax returns to the tax office.

After the liquidators have fulfilled all obligations and the liquidation has been completed, the liquidators must register the termination with the commercial register. A copy of the Federal Gazette must be used to prove that the announcement was made at least one year ago in the Federal Gazette. The commercial register will often obtain an opinion from the tax office as to whether the company has fulfilled all its tax obligations. If this is the case and the registration is otherwise correct, the commercial register will delete the company.

We will be happy to prepare all the necessary documents for the liquidation for you and submit them electronically to the commercial register. On request, we can also arrange for publication in the Federal Gazette for you.

To prepare for liquidation, please provide us with the following information:

  • Company name, register court and HRB number
  • Date of liquidation (the end of December 31 is often recommended)
  • Name, date of birth and address of the liquidator(s)
  • Should the liquidator(s) always be able to act individually (generally recommended)
  • Should the liquidator(s) be exempt from the restrictions of Section 181 BGB? (only possible if the articles of association permit this!)

GmbH-Gründung/Liquidation

GmbH-Gründung

Unser Datenblatt für die Gründung einer GmbH oder UG (haftungsbeschränkt) können Sie hier herunterladen.

Bitte füllen Sie das Formular am Bildschirm oder per Hand aus und übermitteln Sie es per Post, Fax, E-Mail oder bringen es vorbei! Vielen Dank!

Wenn Sie eine GmbH oder eine Unternehmergesellschaft (haftungsbeschränkt) gründen möchten, teilen Sie uns hierzu bitte – gern auf unserem Datenblatt – die unten genannten Daten mit und sprechen Sie uns gern persönlich an. Entsprechend Ihren Wünschen erhalten Sie dann umgehend einen Entwurf der Gesellschaftsgründung und können einen Termin für die Beurkundung vereinbaren.

Ab dem 1. August 2022 werden wir Ihnen auch Online-Bar-Gründungen 
Ihrer GmbH sowie Online-Handelsregisteranmeldungen für alle Gesellschaften 
anbieten können. 

Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns gern bei Fragen hierzu!

Bitte teilen Sie uns auch mit, ob Sie die Gesellschaft mit dem gesetzlichen Musterprotokoll gründen wollen oder ob Sie einen ausführlicheren Gesellschaftsvertrag mit eingehenderen Regelungen wünschen. Die Gründung mit dem gesetzlichen Musterprotokoll ist zwar kostengünstiger. Da das Musterprotokoll sehr knapp gehalten ist, empfiehlt es sich aber allenfalls für Ein-Mann/Frau-Gesellschaften. Insbesondere für eine GmbH mit mehreren Gesellschaftern fehlen im Musterprotokoll eine Reihe von wichtigen Regelungen (zum Beispiel Abhaltung von Gesellschafterversammlungen, Beschränkungen bei der Veräußerung, Erbfolge, Einziehung, Vorerwerbsrechte). Gleiches gilt, wenn Sie zwar zunächst allein Ihre Gesellschaft gründen, aber ggf. später weitere Gesellschafter aufnehmen möchten.

Empfehlenswert ist es daher in aller Regel, Ihren Gesellschaftsvertrag ausführlicher und individuell zu gestalten. Bitte sprechen Sie uns hierzu an. Gern bereiten wir Ihren Gesellschaftsvertrag für Sie vor. Sie brauchen den Vertrag nicht selbst entwerfen und sparen hierdurch auch keine Kosten. Vielmehr sind die Kosten einer Beurkundung bei einem individuellen Gesellschaftsvertrag (der also nicht dem gesetzlichen Musterprotokoll entspricht) immer die gleichen, unabhängig davon, ob Sie selbst oder ob wir den Vertrag für Sie entwerfen. Daher empfiehlt es sich, wenn Sie unsere Erfahrung beim Entwurf von Gesellschaftsverträgen in Anspruch nehmen und uns alles vorbereiten lassen. Sie können die so ersparte Zeit für die vielen anderen Vorbereitungsschritte Ihrer unternehmerischen Tätigkeit nutzen.

Please click here for English version!

  • Firma der Gesellschaft

Beispiel: Mustermann Lebensmittel Im- und Export GmbH

Hinweis: Die Zulässigkeit der Firma sollten Sie vorab mit der für Ihren Sitz zuständigen Industrie- und Handelskammer abklären. Bei einem Sitz in Monheim am Rhein, Hilden, Langenfeld oder Düsseldorf ist die IHK Düsseldorf zuständig, bei einem Sitz in Köln die IHK Köln. Für andere Orte finden Sie die zuständige IHK unter

www.ihk.de/#ihk-finder

  • Höhe des Stammkapitals

bei GmbH: mindestens 25.000 Euro!

  • Daten aller Gesellschafter

Vor- und Nachname, ggf. abweichender Geburtsname, Geburtsdatum, Anschrift, Höhe des Anteils am Stammkapital

Beispiel:

  1. Melanie Mustermann geborene Musterfrau, geboren am 8.9.1989, wohnhaft Musterstraße 1, 12345 Musterstadt à 13.000 € Anteil;
  2. Max Mustermann, geboren am 9.5.1959, wohnhaft Musterweg 3, 12435 Musterstadt à 12.000 € Anteil.
  • Güterstand aller Gesellschafter

Bitte teilen Sie uns bei allen verheirateten Gesellschaftern mit, welche Staatsangehörigkeit und welchen gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt Sie jetzt haben und jeweils zum Zeitpunkt der Eheschließung hatten. Denn falls ein ausländischer Güterstand für einen Gesellschafter gilt, ist es möglich, dass danach die alleinige Beteiligung eines Gesellschafters (ohne seinen Ehegatten) an der Gesellschaft nicht oder nur mit weiteren Vorkehrungen möglich ist. Mit Ihren Angaben können wir den Güterstand ermitteln und Ihnen Vorschläge für das weitere Vorgehen machen, damit Sie sich rechtssicher an der Gesellschaft beteiligen können.

Beispiel:

  1. Melanie Mustermann geborene Musterfrau, Staatsangehörigkeit jetzt: deutsch, Staatsangehörigkeit im Zeitpunkt der Eheschließung: italienisch, gewöhnlicher Aufenthalt jetzt: Deutschland, gewöhnlicher Aufenthalt im Zeitpunkt der Eheschließung: Italien
  2. Max Mustermann, Ehemann von Melanie Mustermann, Staatsangehörigkeit jetzt: deutsch, Staatsangehörigkeit im Zeitpunkt der Eheschließung: deutsch, gewöhnlicher Aufenthalt jetzt: Deutschland, gewöhnlicher Aufenthalt im Zeitpunkt der Eheschließung: Frankreich
  • Voll- oder Halbeinzahlung?

[nur bei der GmbH, nicht bei der UG (haftungsbeschränkt)!]

Direkte Volleinzahlung des Kapitals oder nur Halbeinzahlung? Bei Halbeinzahlung erfolgt dann die weitere Einzahlung nach Entscheidung der Gesellschafter, dies spart Kapital zu Beginn der Gesellschaft.

 

  • Daten aller Geschäftsführer

Vor- und Nachname, ggf. abweichender Geburtsname, Geburtsdatum, Anschrift.

Hinweis: Sowohl die Gesellschafter selbst als auch Dritte können Geschäftsführer werden!

Beispiel:

  1. Gerd Geschäftig, geboren am 8. 2. 1982, Geschäftsstraße 1, 99999 Geschäftsstadt;
  2. Frieda Fleißig, geboren am 7.5. 1975, Fleißstraße 3, 33333 Fleißstadt
  • Vertretungsbefugnis der Geschäftsführer

Bei mehreren Geschäftsführern: Sollen die Geschäftsführer jeweils allein handeln können oder nur gemeinsam?

Beispiel: Die Geschäftsführer Geschäftig und Fleißig sollen beide allein handeln können.

Soll/en der/die Geschäftsführer auch Geschäfte mit sich selbst oder gleichzeitig als Vertreter anderer Unternehmen oder Dritter abschließen können (= Befreiung von den Beschränkungen des § 181 BGB)? (insbesondere zu empfehlen bei Alleingesellschafter-Geschäftsführern und bei verbundenen oder miteinander kooperierenden Unternehmen mit teilweise identischen Geschäftsführern!)

Beispiel: Die Geschäftsführerin Fleißig soll von § 181 BGB befreit sein. Der Geschäftsführer Geschäftig soll nicht von § 181 BGB befreit sein.

  • Sitz (Ort) der Gesellschaft und Geschäftsadresse

Beispiel: Sitz Musterort, Geschäftsadresse: GmbH-Straße 1, 23456 Musterort

  • Unternehmensgegenstand

In welcher Branche soll Ihre Gesellschaft tätig sein? Was sind ihre Geschäftszweige?

Beispiel: „Gegenstand der Gesellschaft ist der Handel mit sowie der Im- und Export von Lebensmitteln sowie die Beratung in diesem Bereich, mit Ausnahme von Rechts- und Steuerberatung“

Weiterer Ablauf nach Beurkundung

Unmittelbar nach der Beurkundung erhalten Sie von uns eine beglaubigte Abschrift Ihrer Gründungsurkunde. Hiermit können Sie bei einer Bank Ihrer Wahl ein Konto für Ihre Gesellschaft eröffnen. Bitte übersenden Sie uns danach (gern auch per E-Mail oder Fax) einen Einzahlungsbeleg über das Stammkapital. Sodann melden wir Ihre Gesellschaft elektronisch zur Eintragung in das Handelsregister an. Bitte bringen Sie – falls noch nicht geschehen – ein Firmenschild an Ihrer Geschäftsadresse an.

Vom Handelsregister erhalten Sie eine Kostenrechnung. Diese beträgt € 150,– für die Eintragung der Gesellschaft und € 20,– für den beglaubigten Handelsregisterauszug. Bitte achten Sie darauf, nur die Original-Rechnung des Handelsregisters zu bezahlen und nicht diejenigen anderer Rechnungssteller, die zum Teil vortäuschen, es handele sich um ein Register oder eine andere offizielle Stelle. Sobald Sie die Kostenrechnung des Handelsregisters bezahlt haben, trägt das Handelsregister Ihre Gesellschaft in das Handelsregister ein. Sie erhalten eine Eintragungsnachricht und nach Prüfung der Eintragung durch uns einen beglaubigten Handelsregisterauszug.

ACHTUNG: Wenn Ihre Gründung besonders eilig ist, können wir uns nach Absprache für Sie für die Kosten starksagen, sodass das Register die Gesellschaft sofort (und nicht erst nach Zahlungseingang) einträgt. Bitte sprechen Sie uns hierzu an!

Bitte handeln Sie erst im Namen Ihrer Gesellschaft und schließen Sie Verträge erst ab, wenn Ihre Gesellschaft im Handelsregister eingetragen ist! Bitte belassen Sie bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt ferner das eingezahlte Stammkapital vollständig auf dem Konto der Gesellschaft! Nach Eintragung der Gesellschaft können Sie das Stammkapital auch für geschäftliche Anschaffungen (zum Beispiel Möbel, Computer) oder für Dienstleistungen (zum Beispiel Unternehmens- und Rechtsberatung, IT-Dienstleister) einsetzen. Sie dürfen sich jedoch nicht selbst Gegenstände abkaufen oder das Kapital an sich selbst wieder auszahlen! Dies wäre eine unzulässige verdeckte Sachgründung.

Für weitere Rückfragen stehen wir Ihnen jederzeit gern zur Verfügung.

Besonderheiten bei Überführung eines Einzelunternehmens in eine Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung

Die Überführung Ihres Einzelunternehmens in eine Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung ist insbesondere auf folgende Weisen möglich:

  1. Sachgründung

Bei der Sachgründung einer GmbH erbringen Sie die Einlageleistungen auf das Stammkapital durch Einbringung Ihres Unternehmens. Der Wert der eingebrachten Gegenstände muss hierfür mindestens einen Wert von € 25.000,– erreichen. Hierfür ist eine entsprechende Bescheinigung Ihres Steuerberaters erforderlich. Ferner ist ein Sachgründungsbericht zu erstellen. Eine Sachgründung einer UG (haftungsbeschränkt) ist rechtlich nicht möglich.

  1. Bargründung mit Sachagio

Bei der Bargründung mit Sachagio erbringen Sie die Einlageleistungen auf das Stammkapital in Geld. Im Rahmen der Gründung der GmbH müssen Sie mindestens € 12.500,– einzahlen, bei Gründung einer Unternehmergesellschaft (haftungsbeschränkt) das gewählte Stammkapital in voller Höhe. Ihr Unternehmen bringen Sie als zusätzliches Sachagio in die Gesellschaft ein. Sie können es in die Kapitalrücklage der Gesellschaft einstellen oder der Gesellschaft als Gesellschafterdarlehen gewähren.

Bei dieser Variante ist kein Sachgründungsbericht erforderlich. Ggf. verlangt das Registergericht eine Bescheinigung darüber, dass die Verbindlichkeiten des Einzelunternehmens dessen Schulden nicht übersteigen.

  1. Reine Bargründung

Bei der reinen Bargründung gründen Sie eine GmbH oder Unternehmergesellschaft (haftungsbeschränkt) und erbringen die Einlageleistungen auf das Stammkapital in Geld (bei der GmbH zunächst mindestens € 12.500,–, bei der Unternehmergesellschaft (haftungsbeschränkt) das gewählte Stammkapital in voller Höhe). Eine Einbringung des Unternehmens erfolgt (zunächst) nicht. Die GmbH kann die Geschäfte des Einzelunternehmens fortführen. Etwa erforderlich Gegenstände können Sie bei Bedarf später einbringen oder der GmbH zur Nutzung überlassen.

  1. Ausgliederung zur Neugründung

Bei der Ausgliederung zur Neugründung gliedern Sie das Unternehmen nach dem Umwandlungsgesetz auf eine hierdurch neu gegründete GmbH aus. Ein Vorteil hierbei ist die Gesamtrechtsnachfolge betreffend die Verträge und sonstigen Rechtsverhältnisse des Unternehmens. Für eine Ausgliederung müssen Sie Ihr Unternehmen vorab als Einzelkaufmann zum Handelsregister anmelden. Eine Ausgliederung zur Neugründung auf eine Unternehmergesellschaft (haftungsbeschränkt) ist rechtlich nicht möglich.

  1. Bargründung und spätere Ausgliederung zur Aufnahme

Bei dieser Variante erfolgt zunächst eine reine Bargründung (wie oben Ziffer 3). Nach Eintragung der GmbH oder UG (haftungsbeschränkt) im Handelsregister gliedern Sie sodann Ihr Einzelunternehmen auf Ihre schon bestehende GmbH oder UG (haftungsbeschränkt) aus (ähnlich wie oben Ziffer 4.). Bei einer UG (haftungsbeschränkt) kann jedoch im Rahmen der Ausgliederung keine Kapitalerhöhung erfolgen, es sei denn, die UG (haftungsbeschränkt) wird im Rahmen der Ausgliederung zur GmbH. Auch für die Variante der Bargründung und späteren Ausgliederung zur Aufnahme müssen Sie Ihr Unternehmen vorab als Einzelkaufmann zum Handelsregister anmelden.

Welche Variante für Sie am passendsten ist, hängt insbesondere davon ab, ob und inwieweit eine Gesamtrechtsnachfolge, eine Einbringung von Gegenständen und/oder eine Buchwertfortführung für Sie von Bedeutung sind. Ferner können auch buchhalterische Gesichtspunkte, Ihre konkrete Steuersituation und die Außendarstellung eine Rolle spielen. Bitte besprechen Sie die genannten Punkte auch noch mit Ihrem Steuerberater.

Liquidation einer GmbH

Die Liquidation einer GmbH läuft wie folgt ab:

Die Gesellschafter fassen den Beschluss, die GmbH zu liquidieren. Hierbei können Sie einen oder mehrere Liquidatoren bestimmen. Für die einzelnen Liquidatoren können die Gesellschafter ferner beschließen, ob sie stets einzelvertretungsberechtigt sein sollen, also immer allein oder nur gemeinsam mit einem anderen Liquidator handeln können sollen. Wenn der Gesellschaftsvertrag dies zulässt, können die Gesellschafter für jeden Liquidator ferner beschließen, ob er von den Beschränkungen des § 181 BGB befreit sein soll, also auch Geschäfte zwischen der GmbH und sich selbst und/oder zwischen der GmbH und anderen Dritten schließen können soll. Wenn die Gesellschafter im Beschluss keinen Liquidator bestimmen, sind automatisch die bisherigen Geschäftsführer Liquidatoren der Gesellschaft.

Im Beschluss legen die Gesellschafter ferner fest, zu welchem Datum die Gesellschaft in Liquidation treten soll. Hierbei können die Gesellschaft nur ein in der Zukunft liegendes Datum bestimmen, eine rückwirkende Liquidation ist nicht möglich. Häufig beschließen die Gesellschafter als Stichtag das Ende des Geschäftsjahres der Gesellschaft (in der Regel der Ablauf des 31. Dezember). Denn auf diese Weise müssen die Gesellschafter keine zusätzliche Liquidationsbilanz mehr aufstellen, da das Liquidationsdatum und der Stichtag des regulären Jahresabschlusses zusammenfallen. Wählen die Gesellschafter ein anderes Datum für die Liquidation, so müssen sie zu diesem Datum eine Liquidationsbilanz aufstellen (zusätzlich zur regulären Jahresbilanz).

Die Liquidatoren müssen die Auflösung der Gesellschaft zum Handelsregister anmelden. Außerdem müssen sie die Auflösung der Gesellschaft im Bundesanzeiger bekanntmachen und hierbei die Gläubiger der Gesellschaft auffordern, sich bei der Gesellschaft zu melden.

Sodann haben die Liquidatoren die Geschäfte der Gesellschaft abzuwickeln und etwaige Gläubiger zu befriedigen. Erst ein Jahr nachdem die Bekanntmachung im Bundesanzeiger erfolgt ist, dürfen die Liquidatoren etwa noch verbleibendes Vermögen der Gesellschaft an die Gesellschafter ausschütten. Die Liquidatoren haben auch alle steuerlichen Pflichten der Gesellschaft zu erfüllen. Nach Beendigung der Liquidation haben Sie beim Finanzamt eine Liquidations-Schlussbilanz und Steuererklärungen einzureichen.

Nachdem die Liquidatoren alle Pflichten erfüllt haben und die Liquidation beendet ist, haben die Liquidatoren die Beendigung zum Handelsregister anzumelden. Hierbei ist durch eine Abschrift aus dem Bundesanzeiger zu belegen, dass die Bekanntmachung vor mindestens einem Jahr im Bundesanzeiger erfolgt ist. Das Handelsregister wird häufig eine Stellungnahme des Finanzamtes einholen, ob die Gesellschaft alle steuerlichen Pflichten erfüllt hat. Wenn dies der Fall und die Anmeldung auch im Übrigen ordnungsgemäß ist, löscht das Handelsregister die Gesellschaft.

Gerne bereiten wir für Sie alle erforderlichen Dokumente für die Liquidation vor und reichen sie für Sie elektronisch beim Handelsregister ein. Auf Wunsch veranlassen wir auch die Bekanntmachung im Bundesanzeiger für Sie.

Zur Vorbereitung der Liquidation teilen Sie uns bitte die folgenden Informationen mit:

  • Firma der Gesellschaft, Registergericht und HRB-Nummer
  • Stichtag der Liquidation (häufig empfiehlt sich der Ablauf des 31. Dezember)
  • Name, Geburtsdatum und Anschrift des Liquidators bzw. der Liquidatoren
  • Soll der Liquidator bzw. die Liquidatoren stets einzeln handeln können (in der Regel empfehlenswert)
  • Soll der Liquidator bzw. sollen die Liquidatoren von den Beschränkungen des § 181 BGB befreit sein? (nur möglich, wenn der Gesellschaftsvertrag dies zulässt!)